Why?

Confession: I have been staring at a blank screen for 15 minutes attempting to come up with the best start for my new blog. The conclusion I have come to is that it is not a perfect start that defines my success in this journey. Simply starting this journey is already a win, and the more I contribute, the more I and hopefully you will be able to take from this.

One of the greatest TED talks I have seen this year, called “How great leaders inspire action” (Simon Sinek), has taught me how the simple question “Why?” must be carefully considered before attempting to start anything. If you are not aware of your real intentions for anything you set out to do, how can you hope to do it well? So I thought it would be a great start for me to express why I have decided to start this blog:

  1. Writing: This is above all a learning experience for me. Not only with the content I hope to cover in this blog, but also because this blog will help me practice my writing skills. Ultimately, I believe that better writing leads to better communication in all aspects of life.
  2. Teaching (and Learning): In recent years, I have developed a passion for teaching and sharing knowledge. I find it incredibly rewarding, and whenever I teach, I have always come out having learnt so much. You may have seen on my homepage the quote, “When one teaches, two learn” by Robert Heinlein. This is what I hope to achieve with this blog. By creating an approachable path into the world of data science, I have no doubt that I will come out with a better grasp of all the concepts.

If nothing else, I would like to achieve these two things through this blog. Everything else will be a lovely extra, and if just 1 person can take something from my journey, then it has been a great success!

 

Leave a Reply

